Two choices : accept it or get to work

YouDoTheMath

“At some point, everything’s gonna go south on you and you’re going to say, this is it. This is how I end. Now you can either accept that, or you can get to work. That’s all it is. You just begin. You do the math. You solve one problem and you solve the next one, and then the next. And If you solve enough problems, you get to come home.”
from the movie, The Martian (2015), starring Matt Damon.

I am pretty selective of the movies I watch (except the mandatory ones the kids drag me to) but when someone shared this scene from the movie, I decided I had to give this show a shot.

These lines resonated because it is the life I live. I won’t use this space to talk about all the other things I might not have liked about the movie because I simply want to hone in on just this part.

Things go wrong and you have a choice. It’s simple and yet, we complicate and worsen things by analysing, procrastinating and just plain refusing to deal with it. If you accept that hardship and failure are regular companions on this journey as are the emotions that are consequent to it, then you can move on to the real work. The work of making things happen.

What I like about solving one problem and then solving the next is  :-

  • it’s all about getting things done. Sitting and discussing all the what-ifs just don’t move the needle until you actually move;
  • it’s focused on one problem at a time. We try too hard and take on too much when we try to fix all our problems at the same time. We can’t.
  • by keeping track of all the problems you’ve now solved, you begin to feel a sense of accomplishment and you’ve got history to guide you, support you, strengthen you and learn from; and
  • it oozes positive, vibrant energy and that is what you need to move ahead.

#entrepreneurdreams #makeithappen

Did you catch the movie? What do you think of this scene? Please share your thoughts in the comments, as I too want to learn from you.

I run the VerticalDistinct platform to support both Human Resource and Technology professionals. I blog on the entrepreneurial journey. I also write for Women of HR and post on LinkedIn. Let’s connect, let’s learn from each other. Let me know how I can support you.

About Rowena Morais

Helping you showcase your profile, network & body of work | Host, Building Influence Show | Author | 2x TEDx Speaker | Editor Ghostwriter & LinkedIn Profile Writer | Marketing & Communications

Leave a comment